Nicole Valera – Criminal Defense

Fighting the system, one case at a time…

Rough day at the office


Man, today felt rough.  I had several court appearances in two different courts.  Timing (and timeliness) means a lot in this business and you have to make sure NOT to cultivate a reputation for being late and unreliable.  I had to pay a locksmith a bunch of money and I’m sure that I was swindled somehow, but I was on such a tight schedule that I didn’t really have a choice.  Dealing with the locksmith placed me behind schedule about 30 minutes.   I had several clients who were in custody and I wanted to make sure that I spent enough time with each of them so that they understood what was going on.  Clients inevitably have lots of questions, which is fine.  This can be complicated stuff, and especially when they’re in custody, tensions can be high.  Efficiency is something I learned at the public defender’s office.  Thankfully in private practice I have more time with my clients, but every once in awhile I go right back into the efficiency mode.  That’s usually just when I have to go to court and am juggling a lot of appearances in one day.  It doesn’t happen often as I’m pretty good at managing my calender.  One thing that is always helpful though is being nice, polite, and having a smile on your face – even when you don’t want to.

What DID put a smile on my face was the new website I have is coming along very nicely and the finishing touches are being done as we speak.  It should be up and running by next week!

January 29, 2010 - Posted by | General Thoughts, Minor Infractions | , , , , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. I had to pay a locksmith nearly $70 dollars once. Like you, I was in such a bind and a hurry that I really had no option. Not fun!

    Comment by Penny | September 30, 2010 | Reply

  2. Not fun at ALL! I remember thinking – Man, I should’ve been a locksmith! He charged me $150 that day…

    Comment by nicolevaleralaw | September 30, 2010 | Reply


Leave a comment